Coles is offering full refunds on two of their sugar-free chocolate blocks after the sweets, labelled as “suitable for vegans”, were revealed to contain dairy.
Pulled from shelves are Coles sugar-free dark chocolate 100g and Coles sugar-free dark chocolate with almond and cranberry 100g. The front of each block declares that the product is “suitable for vegans”, but the company admits that this is not the case.
‘The recall is due to the presence of an undeclared allergen – dairy – which has not been specified on the label. The label incorrectly advises the product is “suitable for vegans”,’ Coles explained in a statement on Friday.
While the news is likely distressing to vegans, who swear off all animal products, it also represents a serious health risk to those allergic to dairy who could become sick from eating the chocolate believed to be safe.
‘We apologise to our customers for any inconvenience,’ says Coles.
The vegan food scene has been booming in recent years as more and more people adopt a plant-based lifestyle. Restaurants are getting on board with companies like San Churro expanding their vegan menu, homeware giant Ikea introducing a vegan hot dog to their in-store restaurants, and Ben & Jerry’s making our dreams come true with dairy-free ice-cream.
This article originally appeared on Foodiful.